Crum Woods Trails
500 College Avenue
Swarthmore, PA 19081
The Crum Woods of Swarthmore College is one of the last remaining forested areas in Delaware County, Pa. With roughly 3.5 miles of walking trails extending over more than two hundred acres of land, the Crum Woods is significant not only for its large area and biodiversity, but also for the opportunities it offers for learning and recreation. The woods are used as a classroom and laboratory by the College, and provide recreational opportunities for all, including the broader community.
Visitors are encouraged to wander the trails, observe the flora and fauna, and otherwise explore, contemplate, and enjoy the woods.
Crum Creek, which runs north to south through the woods, was originally called Ockanickon, by the native Lenni Lenape who lived on its banks. Following European settlement in the early 18th century, the Swedes renamed it Crumkill, meaning “crooked creek.” Over time, much of the land around the creek was cleared for agricultural and industrial use. During the Great Depression, under direction of the Scott Horticultural Foundation (which is today the Scott Arboretum) the Crum Woods was replanted with over 60,000 native trees and shrubs. John Wister, first director of the Arboretum, named the trails for acclaimed botanists and horticulturists. The trail names on this map match those on Wister’s 1939 hand-drawn map.
The trail is a “walking trail” and part of the 38 sq. miles of watershed that runs from Malvern, Chester County to the Delaware River. The Leiper-Smedley Trail is a paved 2.2 mile path from Rogers Lane to Yale Avenue on the west side of the creek. That trail is bike and handicapped friendly.