The Inn at Grace Winery
Little documentation exists about the inn as an Underground Railroad site, but it was purchased as an official land grant from William Penn. The original Quaker farmhouse dates to 1734, with a Georgian-style addition added in 1815. The Inn’s storied past includes housing the British after the Battle of the Brandywine in 1777, serving as a probable safe house for the Underground Railroad, and its third floor used as an infirmary ward during the Civil War.
Today the property is home to a vineyard, a manor house and cottages for overnight guests, and a beautifully renovated barn used for weddings, private celebrations, and corporate events. This estate is also a popular destination for wine-tastings, Sunday Supper Club, and nestled among several other area attractions like the Brandywine Battlefield, The Brandywine River Museum of Art, and the historic Newlin Grist Mill. Photo credit: Facebook/The Inn at Grace Winery
Special thanks to Keith Lockhart, Bob Seeley, Bill McDevitt, Harold Finnegan, Tom Smith, Karen Micha, Kate Clifford, Susan Mescanti, Carol Fireng, Leslie Potter, and Laurie Grant for sharing their knowledge, documents, articles, maps and photos with Visit Delco, PA. Laurie Grant, Executive Director of the Delaware County Historical Society invites those seeking more information to visit their website. “Since 1895 DCHS remains true to its mission of Collecting, Protecting, and Preserving Delco history and tradition,” Laurie notes, “we also have a Museum Gallery, Research Library and Children’s Education Center.”